Do You Go To Book Fairs?

Books are the secret keys made from trees
unlocking all the places from other skies to wilder seas.

There’s no special book-themed occasion today (at least, not one that I know of that includes the whole-world) but from where I’m at, (it’s a secret, but you can take a guess) today is the 37th International Book Fair’s 4th day.

The event started just this September 14 (a Wednesday) and will only last until tomorrow, September 18, Sunday. Sadly.

book-fair-11.jpglifestyle.inquirer.net

Why is it such a big deal?

                Well, for starters, there’s the promise of a discount on ALL books. Who wouldn’t want something like that?

And then of course, there are the book signings where I got to meet Kiera Cass last year. She is the author of The Selection series. For this year though, I do not know the author so I’m not going to her book signing tomorrow.

Besides that, there are demos like a sort of art class in one part and some other types that I was not able to go to (unfortunately).

But the best part (at least for me) is inside that book fair, it is a reader’s dream come true. Why? Well, where would one find, probably more than a hundred publishing houses come under just one huge roof to fill every turn you take with books, books and some more things called books.

Since the only free time me and my mother had to go there was last Thursday, and so we went after class hours and stayed there for a short while.

We couldn’t stay for so long seeing there were still classes the next day but I was more than fine with it because I was able to buy myself some books I am quite interested in.

Six books, for others, may not seem like a lot but I’m very picky when it comes to books. I don’t want to get disappointed when I pick something up, buy it, read the first page and never return to it again. I’m pretty sure I’m not the only one who feels the same too.

“Sometimes you read a book so special that you want to carry it around with you for months after you’ve finished just to stay near it.” –Markus Zusak

Over to you, what is that special book that you will forever remember?

For me, it’s not just one but a series. It may seem childish but the Percy Jackson series will forever hold my heart.

8 thoughts on “Do You Go To Book Fairs?

    1. Well, it took place in Manila, and wow, that’s so cool to have been to so many book fairs. Yes, getting to see the authors really is a sort of special experience. You’re more than welcome, awesome blog by the way.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

