Melody

As he softly sings,
I began to grow wings
and together we fly,
until the day we die.

He promises a love that will last,
one that will never have to gather dust
but he was only singing,
miles away from me, living.

Then as he fades with his musings,
another voice slowly begins
hers, a girl whose soul sings
all about the most beautiful things.

She says all that I think of
in a sound both clear and soft
she tells me that life won’t play it cool,
I’ll have to learn to be no fool.

How could something like a song,
changed all that seemed so wrong?
How could something like music
add so much to the lyric?

I wonder for so long,
the real meaning of a song
songs that can let me fly,
but soon make me cry.

 

Featured image from www.youtube.com
4 thoughts on “Melody

Leave a Reply

